Eoin Morgan and Jos Buttler: The hosts’ captain and in-form wicket-keeper batsman will miss the third T20I against Australia.

During the third T20I of the ongoing Australia’s tour of England in Southampton, Australia have won the toss and will bowl first in a bid to register their maiden victory on the tour.

Having lost the first two matches, Australia haven’t had the best of starts on this tour. In a dead-rubber, the visitors have made three changes to their XI to test others who have traveled with the team.

Therefore, opening batsman David Warner, wicket-keeper batsman Alex Carey and vice-captain Pat Cummins have been rested for this match. Wicket-keeper batsman Matthew Wade, all-rounder Mitchell Marsh and fast bowler Josh Hazlewood have made their way into the Australian XI.

“Hopefully, under lights it can skid on. We’ll take that on and try to chase down a total,” Australia captain Aaron Finch said during the toss.

Who has replaced Eoin Morgan and Jos Buttler?

While England normally wouldn’t have made a change to their winning combination, a couple of forced changes mean that they won’t be taking field to whitewash their arch-rivals with a winning combo.

Captain Eoin Morgan, who had received a blow on his finger in the previous match, will miss this match as a precautionary measure. On the other hand, wicket-keeper batsman Jos Buttler isn’t available due to personal reasons.

All-rounder Moeen Ali, who had been named Morgan’s deputy before the start of this summer, will lead England for the first time in Morgan and Buttler’s absence.

As far as the replacements for the home team are concerned, batsmen Sam Billings and Joe Denly will play this match after warming the bench in the first two. The development also means that Tom Banton will be promoted to open the batting alongside wicket-keeper batsman Jonny Bairstow.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here