Zac Blair hits himself in head with putter, gets DQ’d – Details

Updated: May 7, 2016
Zac Blair hits himself in head with putter, gets DQ'd

Zac Blair admitted on Twitter that he let his emotions get the better of him during the second round of the Wells Fargo Championship.

After missing a birdie putt on the fifth hole, Zac Blair smacked his putter against his head in frustration, bending the club. Then he used the bent club to tap in for a par.

Had Blair, 25, used a different club, there would have been no problem.

However, officials determined Zac Blair had broken rule 4-3b which states if “a player’s club is damaged other than in the normal course of play rendering it non-conforming or changing in its playing characteristics, the club must not be subsequently used or replayed during the round.”

Zac Blair, who was 7-over following the round and faced an uphill battle to make the cut anyway, said in a statement he wasn’t aware the club was bent until a later hole.

“Going forward I’m going to do my best not to let my emotions get in the way out on the golf course, and I’m going to learn from this mishap and move on,” Blair said. “My game feels very close, just need to clean up silly mistakes and I’ll be right there.”

Zac Blair tried to have a sense of humor about the incident, tweeting out a GIF of Woody Austin, who broke his putter on his head at Hilton Head in 1997.