Squad named for Nordics

Updated: July 11, 2014

Kenny Swain has named the England Under-17 squad for the Nordic Tournament at the end of this month.

England, who will be in Group B, will kick off against Iceland on Monday 28 July before facing Finland 24 hours later. They play their final group match against Sweden on Thursday 31 July.

And a fourth game will then be played against the nation who finish in the same respective position in Group A on 2 August, in order to decide the final rankings for the 2014 tournament. Group A consists of Faroe Islands, Norway, USA and the host nation.

The Nordic Tournament

Group A Denmark, Faroe Islands, Norway, USA

Group B
 England, Finland, Iceland, Sweden
28 July – 2 August 2014

The annual tournament is classed as an U17s competition, but Kenny Swain takes charge of the squad as he uses the trip to look at players who he never got chance to select in the previous season’s U16s games as well as options for next season’s younger group.

Swain only coaches the U17s for this tournament each season, before John Peacock takes the players as Head Coach for The FA International Tournament in late August and the European Championship qualifiers thereafter.

England U17 squad

Goalkeepers William Huffer (Leeds United), Taye Ashby-Hammond (Fulham).

Defender Trent Arnold (Liverpool), Reece Oxford (West Ham United), Darnell Johnson (Leicester City), Edward Francis (Manchester City), Vashon Neufville (West Ham United).

Midfielders: Kyle Edwards (West Bromwich Albion), Sadou Diallo (Manchester City), Callum Slattery (Southampton), Daniel Wright (Sunderland), Yan Dhanda (Liverpool), Herbie Kane (Liverpool), Todd Cantwell (Norwich City), Marcus Edwards (Tottenham Hotspur).

Forwards: Andre Green (Aston Villa), Admiral Muskwu (Leicester City), Jonathan Leko (West Bromwich Albion).