NASCAR : Kevin Harvick Wins First Sprint Cup Title

NASCAR : Kevin Harvick Wins First Sprint Cup Title
NASCAR : Kevin Harvick Wins First Sprint Cup Title

A week after winning in Phoenix to advance to the Championship Round of the NASCAR Sprint Cup Chase, Kevin Harvick wins in Homestead to receive his first Sprint Cup Championship.This was a year of firsts for NASCAR racer, Kevin Harvick. In his first year with Stewart-Hass Racing he was able to race his way to a career first, Championship victory. Harvick now holds the title of NASCAR’s 30th Championship winner.

Last Week, Harvick won the Quicken Loans 500 at Phoenix International Raceway sealing his position in the Final Four. Going into the race today, the final four contenders were Kevin Harvick, Denny Hamlin, Ryan Newman, and Joey Logano.

Late in the race, Joey Logano encountered several mistakes on pit road, causing him to fall back several positions. Denny Hamlin also lost sight of the lead after suffering from a delayed restart.

On the final restart, Ryan Newman and Kevin Harvick were in the lead. However, the green flag left Ryan Newman a few car lengths short of the win.

The final race standings left Ryan Newman in second, followed by Denny Hamlin in seventh, and Joey Logano in 16th. This was Kevin Harvick’s fifth win of the season.