Kyle Larson Wins Fontana NNS Race : Results

Kyle Larson Wins Fontana NNS Race
Kyle Larson Wins Fontana NNS Race

Kyle Larson won his first NASCAR Nationwide Series race Saturday, holding off Kevin Harvick and Kyle Busch in a thrilling finish at Auto Club Speedway.

The 21-year-old Larson, who is from Elk Grove, became the first California native to win a Nationwide race at the 2-mile oval, surviving a battle in the final laps of the 300 that had fans on their feet.

“It’s been over a year now since I’ve been close to winning, I finally got it done and it means a lot to have done it here in California,” Larson said in Victory Lane.

The top three of Larson, Harvick and Kyle Busch had a close battle during the closing laps. Busch brushed the wall with six laps remaining before giving way to Harvick for second place.

Kyle Busch and Rick Hendrick were among those congratulating Larson in Victory Lane.

Joey Logano, Elliott Sadler, Chase Elliott, Matt Kenseth, Ty Dillon, Trevor Bayne and Regan Smith completed the top 10.

Regan Smith leaves Fontana tied with Trevor Bayne for the Nationwide Series point lead and Ty Dillon third.

Next up on the 2014 Nationwide schedule is Texas Motor Speedway on April 4th.

NASCAR Nationwide Series Results, Auto Club Speedway

1. Kyle Larson
2. Kevin Harvick
3. Kyle Busch
4. Joey Logano
5. Elliott Sadler
6. Chase Elliott
7. Matt Kenseth
8. Ty Dillon
9. Trevor Bayne
10.Regan Smith
11.Dylan Kwasniewski
12.Brian Scott
13.David Ragan
14.Chris Buescher
15.Brendan Gaughan
16.James Buescher
17.Ryan Reed
18.Mike Bliss
19.J.J. Yeley
20.Dakoda Armstrong
21.Mike Wallace
22.Ryan Sieg
23.Jeffrey Earnhardt
24.David Starr
25.Eric McClure
26.Joey Gase
27.Daryl Harr
28.Derrike Cope
29.Carlos Contreras
30.Kevin Lepage
31.Tanner Berryhill
32.Jason White
33.Josh Wise
34.Jamie Dick
35.Landon Cassill
36.Jeremy Clements
37.Matt Dibenedetto
38.Carl Long
39.Blake Koch
40.Jeff Green

Chris  Gil