Jahlil Okafor named top player in ACC – Watch

Jahlil Okafor named top player in ACC - Watch

Jahlil Okafor has been named both the ACC Player of the Year and the conference’s Freshman of the Year by the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association (ACSMA), the league office announced today. Okafor becomes the first freshman in ACC history to earn player of the year honors.

After averaging 17.6 points per game and 9.2 rebounds per game this season, Okafor was tabbed as the player of the year on 44 of 64 ballots cast by the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association.

Notre Dame’s Jerian Grant finished second in the voting with 14 nods and Virginia’s Malcolm Brogdon received three. Syracuse’s Rakeem Christmas, Boston College’s Olivier Hanlan and Louisville’s Montrezl Harrell all got one vote.

Okafor was also named the Freshman of the Year and was a unanimous selection for First Team All-ACC.

Joining Okafor on the first team was Grant (also a unanimous selection), Christmas, Hanlan and Brogdon.

NC State’s Beejay Anya was selected as the Sixth Man of the Year beating out Duke’s Matt Jones by 13 votes.

Virginia’s Tony Bennet won the ACC Coach of the Year for the second consecutive season – the first time for the feat since Mike Krzyzewski did it in 1999-2000.

Duke’s Quinn Cook and NC State’s Trevor Lacey earned second team All-ACC honors. The third team featured UNC’s Marcus Paige and Brice Johnson along with Duke’s Tyus Jones.