Cheerios cereal recall 2015: Some boxes, labeled gluten free, may contain wheat “Details”

Cheerios cereal recall 2015: Some boxes, labeled gluten free, may contain wheat

General Mills on Monday issued a recall of some Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios cereal because some that were labeled as gluten-free contained wheat.

The recall involves Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios produced on certain dates in July due to “an isolated incident” that “resulted in wheat flour being inadvertently introduced into the gluten-free oat flour system” at its Lodi facility, according to General Mills.

“As a result, the products may contain an undeclared allergen — wheat – – in products labeled as gluten-free, according to General Mills, which is recalling and retrieving affected cereals from customer warehouses and store shelves.

Consumers with wheat allergies, celiac disease or gluten intolerance shouldn’t consume products bearing the affected code dates and should contact General Mills for a replacement or full refund, according to the company.

The recall involves four days production of original (yellow box) Cheerios, and 13 days of production of Honey Nut Cheerios with the following “BETTER IF USED BY” code dates and the plant code LD, which indicates the product was produced at Lodi:

12JUL2016LD

13JUL2016LD

14JUL2016LD

15JUL2016LD

16JUL2016LD

17JUL2016LD

18JUL2016LD

20JUL2016LD

21JUL2016LD

22JUL2016LD

23JUL2016LD

24JUL2016LD

25JUL2016LD

14JUL2016LD

15JUL2016LD

16JUL2016LD

17JUL2016LD

Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios cereals produced at General Mills’ other facilities, or on dates other than those noted at the Lodi facility, are not impacted, nor are its other gluten-free Cheerios varieties — including Apple Cinnamon Cheerios, Frosted Cheerios and MultiGrain Cheerios.

Consumers requesting refunds or who have further questions should contact General Mills Consumer Services at (800) 775-8370.