Amari Cooper makes history, wins Biletnikoff Award

Updated: December 12, 2014
Amari Cooper makes history, wins Biletnikoff Award

Amari Cooper wins Biletnikoff Award, Cooper became the first Alabama player to win the award. He joined LSU’s Josh Reed in 2001 as the only Southeastern Conference players to win it.

Amari Cooper was selected over finalists Rashard Higgins of Colorado State and West Virginia’s Kevin White.

Amari Cooper has caught 115 passes, which shattered Julio Jones’ previous school record (78) and just topped Jordan Matthews’ conference record (112).

Amari Cooper, who on Wednesday was named the SEC Offensive Player of the Year, is one of three finalists for the Heisman Trophy to be awarded Saturday night alongside Oregon quarterback Marcus Mariota and Wisconsin running back Melvin Gordon.

Alabama had two other players who were among the finalists for other awards Thursday night: punter JK Scott (Ray Guy, nation’s best punter) and safety Landon Collins (Jim Thorpe, nation’s top defensive back).